Renaming “recommend” to “share”. What do you think?

Quick poll: as part of our clean up process, we have been walking through the stream of feedback we have been receiving on twitter and get satisfaction during the last 4 months. One open issue/snake is the confusion between “feedly recommend” and “google reader share”. One way to address this issue is to rename “feedly recommend” into “feedly share”. The benefits are 1) we leverage the mindshare built by google reader, 2) share takes less space than recommend in the UI (specially in the coming sidebar). The downside is that it will be a little less intuitive for first time, non-google reader users (which is our ultimate target audience – hopefully one day!). I am thinking that we should try the rename and listen to what people say. What do you think? If you have a strong suggestion one way or the other, please leave a comments or shout @feedly on twitter.

Update: Thanks for the feedback both here and an twitter. We decided to experient with the change as part of patch 1.2.68. We will listen to what people say and what types of questions new users ask and report back if we learn anything interesting.

Author: @feedly

Read more. Know more.

7 thoughts on “Renaming “recommend” to “share”. What do you think?”

  1. I like “recommend” myself, it has a clearer intent as far as my community is concerned than just “share”.

  2. As a new user to Feedly, I strongly recommend that you could make a picture introduction of Feedly page which shows all the function of buttons and icons. I feel so puzzled to find a share like button as I want to share an article with my friends. I tried the tutorial link, but can’t find what I want, the tutorial page is not user friendly I think.

    It’s really a nice extension or app, but if users can get familiar with functions and interface in the first 3 minutes, most users will give up trying to know how it works. Without big users base, everything is impossible.

Comments are closed.