Better Support for 1024 Displays: Narrow, Medium and Wide

On Friday, we pushed out a new iteration of the feedly UI. It included two display modes: narrow and wide. Based on the feedback collected over the last 24 hours, that was not enough and the experience for people using a 1024 display was not always satisfactory. So we did a short code marathon and are pushing out as part of 1.2.283 an additional mode (called medium) optimized for 1024 width screens.

Here is what it looks like:

feedly display modesYou should be able experience these modes next time you restart firefox. To do so, simply resize the browser window and you should see feedly try to adapt to the width.

Author: @feedly

Read more. Know more.

5 thoughts on “Better Support for 1024 Displays: Narrow, Medium and Wide”

  1. Thanks so much for the incredibly fast turnaround time on this. If I had a widescreen monitor (and I really, really wish I did) it’d be wonderful to experience Feedly’s wide layout. However, since I’m stuck on this 1024 wide display for now, I really appreciate you taking us technological laggers into account. Feedly rocks!

  2. Thank you! What a clever implementation to have it automatically adapt to browser window size. Now I can get the most out of Feedly both on my netbook and giant widescreen LCD.

  3. Thanks for doing this. For me, auto sizing seems to go between narrow and large, thankfully I knew to go to preferences and figured out that Medium (mostly) works for me. Since I have Tweetie (Twitter client) next to my browser, Firefox is set narrower than if I used the whole screen. Still, medium just about gets it. Thanks!

    I’m wondering if there would be a way for the narrow version to have the same aesthetic (contrasting black with with lettering navigation bar) as the other sizes? I’d be more prone to use it if so, it’s so bland as is.

  4. I think this is a very good point. As a guy who sells printing AND inactterive products, I have some insight. A lot of real estate print is hideous. It’s effectiveness is limited by that.YHYM is a terrible piece to read and if it was re-designed, it could be vastly better. I think you have to temper your criticism of print with the quality and execution of each piece. The just listed/sold flyers are less useful for me certainly in a hot market they are to slow to get messages out. Print is a good way to stand on a street corner and yell your name . It’s really as simple as that. It works. The ethics of carving up boreal forest for that purpose are a debate in their own right. You are very effective at using new/social media. Many Baby-boomers are not. Really it’s just a testimony to fresh blood doing things in a new way. A lot of people we sell websites to are classic wanting a cool web presence and then not really using it. Print is easy web based marketing actually is harder in many ways. AND my wife uses REALTOR.ca daily.

Comments are closed.