[Community Input] Next?

We have a few options regarding what the focus of the team should be for the next 4-8 weeks.

#1 Allow users to publish selected tabs/categories as a micro-site/Ning community

#2 Improve the explore page to better track topics like “Microsoft Bing, Google Wave”

#3 Make feedly available on the iphone

#4 Make feedly available on the developer version of Google Chrome

#5 Create a new interface for people who want to “snack” news (show me the 20-30 most relevant articles + shuffle)

#6 Provide a feedly light which does not require a Google login or firefox extension

#7 Continue effort around better filtering and richer layout logic.

#8 Ability to filter and view the content included in your twitter and facebook streams

#9 Build a feed directory to simplify finding and subscribing to a specific feed/set of feeds

#10 Mark as read anything older than x days. Multi-unsubscribe (see Comment from Gerald)

#11 add a popular section with the list of most recommended articles during the last 24/48 hours (see Don’s comment)

#12 better feed and people recommendations, including a better user profile page (see Golda’s comment)

#13 add support for skins

#14 ability to tag individual articles within feedly/Google Reader (see Jose’s comment below)

#15 printing support (see Krewetka’ comment below)

#16 offer one higher density view – ability to see 10-15 different articles in one screen without scrolling (via Sean)

#17 ability to view and post disqus comments

Any preference? Anything else?

[Update Monday 21:43pm] #7 seems to have some traction. If you are are for #7 and would like to see more user control, let us know if you have suggestions on what kind of knob you would like to see added to give you more control over how the flow of information is being filtered.

[Update Tuesday 1:00pm] Thanks for all the feedback. Will let the pool open for a couple more days and then summarize all the comments into a single compact list. We very much appreciate the community input: It removes a lot of the guessing. Thank you!

Author: @feedly

Read more. Know more.

215 thoughts on “[Community Input] Next?”

  1. In order of preference:

    i’d like to see some kind of topic tracking.

    definitely google chrome would be nice.

    Better filtering, maybe a “Feeds I pay the most attention to” tab?

    iPhone/iPod Touch support

  2. feedly-affinity : automatically group users into a network, based on the kind of feeds they subscribe to.
    (users could opt in/out from this if they have privacy issues)

  3. I vote for (in no particular order) #3, #7, and #10, the latter being some sort of help with managing large numbers of feeds. Perhaps a “mark as read anything older than X days” or some such option for the times when I get way behind in my reading. A more intuitive way of managing the feeds might be good too–wading through my entire list of feeds to mark things one by one is cumbersome. Perhaps a way to select multiple feeds and/or a whole category and doing a mass update/unsubscribe/whatever?

  4. #1 first up. That would be a great feature.

    #3&4 should be one option and add Android phones to the list also. More a “platform penetration” option to get Feedly out to more and more places. This I would rank at position 2.

    #6 at number 3 so as to get more users of the system also.

  5. I’d love to see, in order of preference:

    #7, better filtering (&promotion of things I’m interested in), layout logic
    #10, auto-expiry of feeds, (get rid of the numbers that make me feel like I’m “behind on my reading”)
    #3, iphone

    and, I guess, for bonus points, #9, a feed directory.

    Thanks for making Feedly!

  6. Would like to see the following developed more fully …

    ‘You Might Also Like’ feature so that I can discover more content based on the feeds I like. Would like to see more suggested sites and a ‘back’ feature so that if I click on it and don’t like it I can return to where I was.

    ‘Top Recommender feature’ not enough info given for me to know who I might want to follow. What would be nice would be a percentage next to each name to show how similar their collection of feeds were to mine. The higher the number the more likely I would be to follow.

    Echo Rob Campbell – Thanks for making Feedly (sheds tear)

  7. I would suggest working on focusing on #6 to develop Feedly as accessible platform from anywhere (whether home, work, or mobile device) and from any browser.

    I would actually give this priority over developing for the iPhone (why develop for one platform when you can develop for all) and Chrome (again same principle of developing for all platforms instead of a specific one).

  8. Keep it simple.

    Feedly already does everything I want, it would only be better if it were faster. And, but maybe this is just me, if it kept the same sidebar with full sources across all pages. It’s annoying to keep going back to latest to see what else is new.

  9. #2, 10, 11

    A nitpick about the new version: I dislike the way the category disappears from the sidebar once all articles have been marked ‘read.’ I would prefer the category remain so I can return to it easily for browsing it if I wanted to.

  10. In order of preference…
    #7 Continue effort around better filtering and richer layout logic. (Especially making feedly faster)
    #8 Ability to filter and view the content included in your twitter and facebook streams
    #10 Mark as read anything older than x days.
    #1 Allow users to publish selected tabs/categories as a micro-site/Ning community
    #2 Improve the explore page to better track topics like “Microsoft Bing, Google Wave”

  11. #7 Continue effort around better filtering and richer layout logic.

    – Especially around removing/eliminating duplicates

  12. 5,6, and 13. Especially 13, though. Feedly is a great service, but to have the design change with every iteration is no good, particularly when different people prefer different designs.

  13. For selfish reasons I’d like to see #4 but #6 makes much more sense for the population at large.

    As a BlackBerry user I’d rather see a good mobile version than a specifically iPhone version so a combo #3 & #6 with mobile replacing iPhone specific.

    in no particular order I’d like to se

    #2, #7, #11 and #12 – basically enhanced filtering and better ui around filtering

    #8 Twitter and Facebook filtering is great but intelligent Twitter recommending of links/comment is more useful

    #10 I love the idea of being able to mark somethings as read after X days but it needs to be on a per feed basis

    #13 – Selectable skins provided by Feedly is a great idea. User defined skins isn’t really necessary

  14. #7 first and foremost.

    I really appreciate what Feedly is doing. Two other humble suggestions:

    1. I agree with James: categories should remain in the sidebar whether or not there are any unread posts in them. perhaps the ones with unread items are simply in bold.

    2. My Twitter feed shouldn’t be available only through the Digest page. Ideally, I’d like an option to show my Twitter feed on the right sidebar on ANY page I’m on. But short of that, there should also be a button on the new left-side menu for a dedicated Twitter feed page.

    Finally, Edwin — you mentioned to Rob, above, that there is an option in Preferences to hide the number of unread count. I’m just not seeing it. Could you be more specific?

  15. 13 – though simply changing colors would be a good start. Skins good though.

    3 – that warrants several exclamation points.

    7 – would like to see this get smarter & let me control it.

    It would be great email articles with my regular email address and not just my gmail address.

    Great work. Trying to get everyone I know to use it.

  16. THANKS FOR ASKING!!! :-D

    My preferences in this order:

    #3 Make feedly available on the iphone

    #11 Add a popular section with the list of most recommended articles during the last 24/48 hours (see Don’s comment)

  17. Keep it simple. They only thing I’d like to see is #7, which is to improve the core user experience.

    Although, I would enjoy an iPhone version :)

  18. I like #3 if it’s done using the pre-App Store approach. MobileSafari-optimized apps work on Android, after all, as well as any other WebKit-based mobile browser.

    On a similar note, HTML5 would be a good way of not requiring a Firefox extension.

  19. The ability to take advantage of FriendFeeds
    mutiple group sharing from Feedly

    P.S. Thanks for taking the top articles off the Latest view. Much better :)

  20. For me, multiple Twitter accounts are a *must*.
    Any chance of that?

    And – Feedly is one of the best things ever. It made my unwieldy Goog Reader useful again. For that I am eternally grateful.

  21. #8
    #x – I would love to see Safari support
    #3 – once a version for the iphone exists, it could probably be ported onto Mac/Win Safari

  22. I’m probably one of the few that doesn’t care so much about content filtering. I actually enjoy sifting through whatever material my feeds turn up.

    Some of the suggestions I do second: more user control over the interface, such as sidebars etc. See comments by Ralph, James & Noah.

    Also #1 & #12 sound like fun ways of boosting feedly’s social aspects.

    Keep up the good work!

  23. I am really starting to like this interface.

    Really. A lot.

    Okay.

    #7 is interesting.
    #9 is important. Rate it as a B priority.
    If #10 is done, I want to be able to opt out.

    #2 and #4 are C priorities — nice to do.

    Not a fan of the self-selection based on Twitter or other networks for the same reason Pandora loses me every couple of months. I don’t want similar sounds — I want to explore.

    Some sort of relevancy related to user activity would be really great. If X users regularly read blogs ABC and DEF, but I’m only subscribed to ABC, recommend it as a push to me and (the Netflix/Amazon lesson here) say why.

  24. #3 Please. I hate the readers on iPhone and the mobile Google reader is annoying to navigate.

    I also like #10 and #11

  25. #3 The iphone is crying for a feedly-like rss reader, so that’s #1

    #7 I’m in great need of sort of intelligent feed ranking/filtering based on history of recommendations, tweets and link clicks. With hundreds and hundreds of feeds, it would be very useful to have an update to the dashboard that was much more informative than the current system. Maybe 3 points for a recommendation and 1 pt for a link click.

  26. I’ll echo the above sentiments that movement toward a version accessible from anywhere would certainly address some of the other options proposed (iPhone, Android, IE, Chrome versions) in one fell swoop. It may not be the same as a native app for iPhone in particular, but if implemented well, it won’t matter much.

  27. Hi,

    Here are the one I’m the most interested in :
    3,7,9 : Mainly those three
    5,8,
    10 : I’d really like to have a confirm box when I clik on “Mark as read” with the possibility to define in the settings “Display confirmation box if you are discarding more than X articles” (X as an input field) OR even better an undo option (I know google API doesn’t allow it but maybe could you make it by yourself).

    What I’d also like to see in Feedly :
    – Multiple Twitter accounts
    – It could be intersting to turn Feedly into a more social client (one page for tweets, one for FB notifications…)
    – integration with Growl notifications

    Thank you for your work.

  28. One thing I miss most from using Google Reader directly is the ‘Previous item’ and ‘Next item’ buttons. These made it so easy to quickly scroll through feeds while keeping the content in the same position on the screen. Having to click the next feed, particularly when it keeps moving about the page, can be quite tiresome, and could be the one thing that takes me back to using Google Reader directly. Everything else about feedly I love.

    1. Hi Andy. I would like to better understand your usage pattern. Have you tried to use the latest view and leverage some keyboard shortcuts (you can type ? in feedly to see the complete list of keyboard shortcuts).

  29. #6, please…

    And thanks for the good work so far, I really like feedly and use it on a daily basis…

  30. #4 To be able to start Feedly as an independent app, like Chrome is offering to. You could alos add Prism for that matter.

  31. #6 (without Google Login, just using the existing RSS-Bookmarks in Firefox – I prefer my data as much out of reach of Big G. as possible)

    #10 (I don’t want to see the same old news after20 days…)

    #11 (yes, why not?)

  32. This is what I vote for from the list:
    – Google Chrome
    – Improve the explore page to better track topics
    – Recommended articles during the last 24/48 hours

    I would also like to see some ranking/filtering features ala Postrank/Feedscrub/Feedhub

  33. #7 sounds good, I think the one thing I miss the most having moved from Google Reader to Feedly (yesterday), is the ability to see at a glance how many unread items there are remaining. In Feedly, the amount of unread articles isn’t really prominent information, unless you go to the dashboard which is more like a maintenance view.

    The other thing I’d like is to be able to pick which Google Finance portfolio gets displayed, as currently Feedly just takes the first one from Finance, and there’s no way to re-order them over there.

  34. #11 will make feedly greatest feedreader ever!

    #3 & #12 sounds amazing too.

    Thank you so much, I love reading my feeds now

  35. #14 have the possibility to sort my saved post. It’s more useful for these to start from the oldest post.

    #15 have the possibility to tag the posts, as I make in greader

    Thank you for all

  36. #10
    I would love to see a version for windows mobile (opera browser).
    I do love the explore feature, but would like to see it more often (like on the category pages).
    It would also be great if we could get sub-categories as a single layer of categories tend to get a bit cluttered.

  37. #10 #11 #12 seem to be where the best value lies for me. Any mobile version would be great, no i-phone so that’s a bit too niche.. going more generic here might be the answer.

  38. 1. iPhone App.
    2. Enhanced profiles
    3. Richer layout logic
    4. Deeper smart data sets (via Calais?)
    5. Publish to open community ala ning is interesting.

    Thank you for asking for the community input. You have the pulse though, trust the ‘team’s’ insight/ intuition.

  39. Something I would like to see is the ability to put things in subcategories. To use the magazine metaphor this would be like sections in a magazine

      1. I do put things in categories via the dashboard. What I’m talking about is being able to have subcategories within those categories.

        For instance I might set up the following:

        Category: Technology
        Sub: Hardware
        Sources
        Sub: Software
        Sources
        Sub: Mobile Tech
        Category: News
        Sub: Local News
        Sources
        Sub: National News
        Sources
        Sub: World News
        Sources

        In terms of navigation I see the sidebar categories having a little arrow for collapsing or displaying the subcategories along the side (possibly even being able to further and actually display the sources – which might be a good idea in general). When you go to the main digest page it would display as it does now showing the top and recommended articles from every category. Going to a category would be a digest of the subcategories. Going to a subcategory would be a digest of its sources.

        This type of organization would bring Feedly closer in line with magazines. In my opinion it also makes organizing my sources easier.

  40. In order of priority:

    2/5/7/11 – I’d group these four under a general enhancement of recommendation & topic tracking. In particular, I’d like to see more sophisticated trending/recommended/reading-habits analysis, which could be shown both on tracking pages or on “snack” pages of the 20-30 “most relevant” articles.

    3 – Feedly for the iPhone. Yes, please!

    8 – If you could include just the microblog content with links, that might be interesting. Might also be something to supplement my first priority (above).

    12 – Yeah, there’s probably some interesting potential in making Feedly more social. Could be cool.

    Also, it’d be nice if the FriendFeed sharing function allowed for selecting images to be added to the FF post.

    Oh and, yes, if #10 gets implemented, I’d like to be able to opt out, too, or to be able set a very long “expiration” date.

    Other than that, keep up the great work!

  41. #7 (articles with specified tags or phrases in the text given higher priority, also the ability to ignore feeds which you still want in Google Reader, but not on feedly)

    #4, #1, #14

  42. #9 — in both a mobile and non-mobile version.

    Once I’m logged into my Google account and I’ve got Feedly running, I’d rather not have to open another tab in Firefox to add feeds to Google Reader. I’d rather do it right from Feedly where I am already reading content and finding new feeds I want to add.

    I imagine the same feature as a mobile option would also help greatly, and might be a subset of #3.

    Thanks for all the hard work.

  43. #14 please! it’s so hard to organize the saved articles without the tags. looking forward to this feature. thanks for the great work!

  44. Number 14! Number 14!

    Seriously, I’m a little bit disappointed by the absence of tabs for the saved content. I use RSS-reader to not only read, but to collect articles, pictures, links and so on. And if I found the psychology article in my Feedly “News” category, it’s still extremely convenient to be able to save it with the “psychology” tag…

    After tags, my favorites are : #12, 13, 8, 2.

    And it would be great to have a clearer reminders for the feeds I’m not reading for a long time – something like a “Missed” section, where the most popular posts from my forgotten feeds are gathered.

  45. #7, #13 and #14 for me

    “what kind of knob you would like to see added to give you more control over how the flow of information is being filtered”

    1)option to turn on/off each thing on the right sidebar

    2)counter of unread articles per category somewhere – preferably in the index on the right sidebar, in the same place where you can mark feed as read

    3)keyboard shortcut to “mark as read and hide” for articles

    4)shortcut “mark as read” not only for single artice but also for selected feed/view/category

    5)not only “refresh” on the cover but also “mark as read” cause without it refresh is useless

    6)develop dashboard -> some better stats, not only “means that you have not read any articles from that source for the last 30 days and that it has more than 250 unread articles”

    I’ve never had 250 unread articels form one source, I’ve never had 250 unread at all… and still I would like to have some option to find with feeds are more useful for me, which are the one I don’t need etc.

    1. I’d like stats on my actually read stories too and suggestions based on stories I read rather than subscriptions I subscribe to.

  46. plus printing button …pleeaaase :)

    “Once I’m logged into my Google account and I’ve got Feedly running, I’d rather not have to open another tab in Firefox to add feeds to Google Reader. I’d rather do it right from Feedly where I am already reading content and finding new feeds I want to add.”

    Rayne, why can’t you add feeds from feedly now? There is “add source” and you can use button in the address bar, right ?

  47. iPhone intergration please: There isn;t one kickass iphone RSS app that lets you share feeds across multiple platforms.

    Skins:

    More options to expand the sharing options on Mini Feed.

  48. also “read it later” integration appreciated or your own solution similar to it :)

  49. #3 and #5 are my favorites, although it would be great if all of the features mentioned above could be implemented eventually. Great job, guys! Feedly is love!

  50. “More options to expand the sharing options on Mini Feed.”

    I agree -please improve mini feed – could be really great tool – forgot about it cause now I had to turn it off :(

  51. #8
    #11
    #14

    I think the three above would be my prefered highest priorities in whichever order would be simpler to implement.

  52. #15
    #14
    #12
    #9

    AND any other ideas :

    – Allow users to share articles with Diigo (like delicious)
    – Allow follower to suscribe with the sharing articles by tag, or by list (allow to filter the sharing sources) / or allow to create groups followers

  53. Iphone and Chrome support would be nice. Disqus support would be awesome too. I love feedly mostly for reading and sometimes also posting comments within the reader.

    Offtopic: I still don’t really get when I’m able able to read/write comments and when not and when I get the friendfeed link and when not.

  54. In Order of preference –
    #16 – Helps when reading a whole lot of feeds in one go.
    #6 – so we can use this on my mobile browser – and access feedly on the move
    #7

  55. My vote:

    #1, 3, 7 and 9.

    I have a database of around 20,000 news feeds. Are you interested ?

  56. 3, 4, and 7 for me

    Also, in Digest view, I’d like to be able to click “Mark as Read and Hide” and have another article take the place of the hidden article.

  57. #9 #16 #1

    and please it would have been much better if you made this post into a poll, which poll results and all
    Thanks

  58. I vote for #7, #1.

    Also, would *love* to have the ability to map categories to different services e.g. post my ‘liked” photos to my tubmlr blog, my “liked” tech stories to my wordpress blog etc.

    Filter which categories get posted to twitter etc.

  59. I’m up for #7 and then #5, in this order!
    But one thing I missed while using feedly was the possibility to create new categories at the Dashboard view (maybe I’m just a newbie that doesn’t know how to do it though).
    Anyway, feedly is great work! :)

  60. I’d like two things:
    – A page where all my twitters friends’ submissions are being listed (like microplaza), also an icon showing how many tweets a particular article have scored in my friends list near articles’ titles,
    – The email form of the mini-feedly applet to stop being displayed so low it makes the “post” button unavailable to click upon.

  61. #7 definitely
    #14 would be very practical
    #4 would be nice
    #15 is a good idea

    I would add the ability to search in my saved and/or shared items.

  62. #8 would be great and expanding with twitter and facebook would only make feedly more popular.
    #11 always curious as to what others are reading, what might be important that I’m missing.
    #12 see no. 11.
    #14 I love the tagging feature in Google Reader, so bringing that (or some version of it) over would be helpful!

  63. i was thinking that integrating some popular IM apps would be a great addition. I find myself opening articles, shortening the link with bit.ly, then copy/pasting into IM messages to send to friends/family. It would be great to that do that the same i way i might tweet or email an article.

    thanks for the great work, btw!

  64. I vote for (in this order):

    #11
    #77
    #5

    But, I would put the following on top:

    – Tap into the social media landscape. Twitter (multi-accounts), Facebook etc. – so that you can read people’s replies and reactions directly from within Feedly (and allow people to ‘tweet’ back)

    – Turn it into a Adobe Air app, so that I don’t have to use a browser.

    – Allow people to modify how quickly it should refresh/update (e.g. we need a max of one minute to be able to track social RSS feeds – which is something the cannot be done with Google Reader).

    In general. Turn Feedly into a Social News reader, instead of ‘just’ a RSS reader :)

  65. #3 (Feedly app for iPhone) has my vote. However, given how much time and effort app development takes, I’m in favor of optimizing and refining the Feedly Firefox experience before moving into this realm. It’s no doubt much easier to implement and test new iterations of Feedly via Firefox extension, than go through the arduous process of submitting to the App Store (plus having to wait for users to update their apps, test, give feedback via the limited and clunky App Store interface…etc.).

    In that vein, my votes go to #13 (skin support — with the request that skins be packageable and shareable; perhaps offer a skin upload/download center on the Feedly site, with user ratings and comments, etc.); #7 (better layout and filtering logic — I would like to have total control over exactly what elements are shown, and where, on the page and in tabs, a la iGoogle homepage); #10 (mark articles X days old as read; multi-unsubscribe); and #16 (higher density article view).

  66. In Order…

    #3 Make feedly available on the iphone

    #2 Improve the explore page to better track topics like “Microsoft Bing, Google Wave”

    #8 Ability to filter and view the content included in your twitter and facebook streams

    #17 ability to view and post disqus comments

    #12 better feed and people recommendations, including a better user profile page (see Golda’s comment)

    #5 Create a new interface for people who want to “snack” news (show me the 20-30 most relevant articles + shuffle)

  67. I actually like the list in its current ordering where #1 is highest priority. One thing not listed that I would like to see (and that gReader doesn’t do) is duplicate article removal. If a story is really ‘hot’ I can see it being re-shared over and over again. It would be nice if I share or read a post, that Feedly remembers and doesn’t display it again (or maybe just displays a comment if there is one).

  68. My Feedly wishlist…

    #5: Create a new interface…
    #3: (modified) Make feedly available… I’d like to see a Safari version along with iPhone app.
    #17: Ability to view disqus comments… I’d like to see support for co-comment and intensedebate also (esp. intensedebate)
    #18: Integration with ShareThis

  69. I wish there was integration with Zotero bibliography tool would be wonderful, one click to my account like Twitter.

    Also I wish there an integrated concept mapping tool, I use Mindmeister.

    Also a pony;>)

  70. #3 – I’d love an app that syncs and sorts out for the iphone\ipod touch; it would make it very easy to read in free hotspots – although this’ll probably take a considerable bit of time.

    So – #2 , #7 and #12 are ones that I think will go well.

  71. 5 !!!
    7 !!!
    9
    10 !!!
    11
    12
    13 !!!
    14
    16 !!!
    17 !!!

    New Skins would be awesome! Something like “Drag and Drop” functions would be.. wooohoo! for example, to individualize “My Digest”, “Saved for later”, etc..

  72. #6 Provide a feedly light which does not require a Google login or firefox extension

    #7 Continue effort around better filtering and richer layout logic.

    #8 Ability to filter and view the content included in your twitter and facebook streams

    #9 Build a feed directory to simplify finding and subscribing to a specific feed/set of feed

    Also, I agree with James & Noah: “categories should remain in the sidebar whether or not there are any unread posts in them. perhaps the ones with unread items are simply in bold”.

    #13 add support for skins

  73. #6 Provide a feedly light which does not require a Google login or firefox extension

    #7 Continue effort around better filtering and richer layout logic.

    #8 Ability to filter and view the content included in your twitter and facebook streams

    #9 Build a feed directory to simplify finding and subscribing to a specific feed/set of feed

    Also, I agree with James & Noah: “categories should remain in the sidebar whether or not there are any unread posts in them. perhaps the ones with unread items are simply in bold”.

    #13 add support for skins

  74. I like the old nav. The header nav was way better. It was bigger and just cleaner looking. Give me an option to change back.

    5, 11, 13, 17, and of course 3 but take you time with it to get it right. Thanks. I love Feedly!

    1. Hi Franklin. The latest version includes 3 grid layouts. Narrow, medium, wide. The medium matches the old layout with the bar at the top. To see it simply resize the window to 1100px (feedly automatically adapts the layout to the width of the page).

  75. I really like the improvents that you’ve made so far – the menu on the left especially.

    #7 Would you consider expanding the “save for later feature” so you could sort your saved pages into tagged categories?

    Also, a different media player. Something that gives you time information for audio podcasts.

    I’d also like #17.

  76. I’ve been looking for #3 since October 2008, so that’s my top priority.

    Next on my list is #8: help me filter my twitter/facebook status updates. If you can make consumption of that information as nice as what you’ve done with RSS feeds, I’ll give up TweetDeck.

  77. Is there a way to turn of the background that I’m not aware of? It’s not ascetically pleasing, and makes the sidebar stuff hard to read. I prefer the previous feedly over this one. This one needs some work. BTW, I love feedly. Completely switch over from Netvibes.

  78. #3 Make feedly available on the iphone
    #18 (new item) Feedly for netbooks (20% sales)
    #5 Create a new interface for people who want to “snack” news (show me the 20-30 most relevant articles + shuffle)

    #9 Build a feed directory to simplify finding and subscribing to a specific feed/set of feeds

  79. #3 definetly and the only thing that I don’t understand is why is the read it later plugin not intergrated? Or is this a job for greasemonkey scripting?

  80. Mark article as read when I click on it with middle button of the mouse (open in new tab). Great work! :) Thanks

  81. +1 for Feedly for mobile/iPhone

    also:
    – Hotkey for Mark all as read (unless I’m missing something and it already has a hotkey)

    – date/time stamps on “list” view

    thanks!

  82. Preferences 3, 13 and I prefer the navigation back at the top where it was rather than the left side. It seems somehow more phyically natural to slide the mouse than up and to the left.
    Just ever so slightly larger buttons for “Mark as Read” etc.
    I heart feedly.

  83. How about improving performance, particularly for those of use with a large number of feeds?

  84. 3, 8, 9, 11, 12

    #3. Even if you could just make an iPhone/web interface, that would be great.

    #8. I really value the links posted by my Twitter peoples, but it would be nice if Feedly could somehow summarize what’s on the other end of their shortened links.

    #9. More recommendation logic! I love Google’s suggestions, but it would more fun to base recommendations on Feedly user data.

    #11. I think I made that suggestion recently and it’s been in the roadmap doc. Still looking forward to a Feedly zeitgeist experience.

    #12. Really looking forward to this!

  85. my suggestion to point

    #3 Make feedly available on the iphone

    There are not only iphones in the world. Please make feedly available on Mobile Browsers like Opera Mobile

  86. 8, 17 and 16.
    if 7 is meaning giving a post a view style dependent on its content then that one too.
    I use Disqus a lot and I would like to see more integration with Tumblr just because that is my main method of sharing.

    many thanks

  87. #2
    #8
    #10
    I would also like to be able to see some way to add gadgets. The only reason why I still keep iGoogle is because there are some gadgets that I like to see on my home page.

  88. #2 Improve the explore page to better track topics like “Microsoft Bing, Google Wave”

    #3 Make feedly available on the iphone

    #6 Provide a feedly light which does not require a Google login or firefox extension

  89. Definitely iPhone/Chrome support (#3,#4)

    Would love to see a native iPhone app firstly and then even for Feedly to become browser agnostic so people can login from anywhere.

    After these then #11 #12

  90. Yes, #7 would be a high priority for me, but there are two things I would add:

    1. Instead of a random twitter feed on folder pages (which is almost never relevant), put the user’s twitter feed on every page.

    2. Integrate facebook’s friend feed.

  91. #3 Make feedly available on the iphone

    #5 Create a new interface for people who want to “snack” news (show me the 20-30 most relevant articles + shuffle)

    These would be great!

  92. #7, #11 (handling old items super gracefully, if it doesn’t already)

    Mostly, though, I would love to see support for identi.ca (and the Open Microblogging stuff) as an alternative to Twitter :)

    Just discovered Feedly and it made me drop my religious adherence to desktop-integrated apps. I dropped both Epiphany and Liferea in its favour! Major accomplishment.

  93. I need a feature so i can filter what categories to show on the Cover & Digest :)

    Oh and support to Chrome & Safari please :)

  94. Regarding what the focus of the team should be for the next 4-8 weeks I would suggest nos. 2 -5 -7 -8 -9 -13 -14 -15. Otherwise I’m happy with Feedly so far.

  95. A single click for both “Mark as Read” and “Refresh”. IMO, this is just common sense to combine, instead of having two separate links.

  96. I love the explore feature, but I see it randomly and mostly targetted to high traffic blogs – not quite sure ow it really works.

    I’d love to see some suggested reading that matches my other feeds – not just related to currently reading articles. Maybe some sort of ppl reading this feed also read…etc so I can expand my reading sources.

    Keep up the good work.

  97. #7 should really be printed out and attached to everybody’s monitor :D

    Did you think about
    1. “grouping” feed entries regarding the same topic (as Google news does)
    or
    2. listing related entries at the end of the post (similar to 1, but easier I think)

    #12 seems quite important too.

    After all, it is all about presenting the right content in the best way

    #1 would be really cool! But it is not the top priority imo.

  98. In order of preference:

    #10 Mark as read anything older than x days. Multi-unsubscribe (see Comment from Gerald)
    – been wanting this for a while for my Google Reader… which I almost never use now cause of Feedly!

    #11 add a popular section with the list of most recommended articles during the last 24/48 hours (see Don’s comment) – see the popularity of Instapaper and Give Me Something to Read (this should be comparatively easier to implement, no?)

    #3 Make feedly available on the iphone – personally would LOVE this option… right now I use “Feeds” on my iPhone to link up with GReader but I don’t think its ideal… I imagine this would require a whole lotta work to fit the smaller screen… on the plus side I think you could easily monetize via this way with an app in the $3-5 range

Comments are closed.