Add a Magazine App to your Ning Social Network [Appathon]

As part of our 2.9 release, Feedly makes it easy today to add a magazine tab to your Ning social network. Here is what is looks like:

A Sample Design Magazine within a Ning Social Network
A Sample Design Magazine within a Ning Social Network

How does it work? Feedly users can open their feedly, drill down into a category and use the new “embed” action to convert that feedly category into a Ning Open Social Application/Gadget – in just one click!

Convert a category in your feedly into an open social magazine gadget
Convert a category in your feedly into an open social magazine gadget

The generated magazine widget has skin support and will automatically morph to fit into the color scheme you have selected for your social network.

The generated application has also activity stream support so members of the social network can easily pick articles they like and post them to their activity stream.

Sharing articles using Open Social Activity Stream
Sharing articles using Open Social Activity Stream

One of the key features of the magazine widget is it ability to curate/filter the content: as the owner of the magazine widget, you can manually select which articles are featured in the magazine by sharing those articles in your feedly. But the widget also include a back-up filtering feature where it will automatically complement the articles you have manually picked with the “best” articles based on Feedly+Google Reader recommendations

Here is a short tutorial:

Because the widget is based on Open Social 0.8, you should be able to add it to any container which supports that standard.

One last thing, Ning is in the process of building out a cool app directory so if you feel that your magazine are really good, you should submit them in the directory and start driving traffic to your magazine applications!

Looking forward to seeing what kind of magazine apps you will be publishing!

Author: @feedly

Read more. Know more.

37 thoughts on “Add a Magazine App to your Ning Social Network [Appathon]”

  1. Nice. The embeddable concept is really the future of media, youtube showed the adoption potential and applications like Feedly show the depth.

  2. this is amazing! i agree with jeff that this method of sharing information by presenting a blend of information chosen by people is the future of media.

    great work guys!!

    1. hello @hamogeekgirl. The ERROR issue is actually an encoding error on the Ning side. The Ning engineering team is aware of the problem and working on the fix. If you send us an email to team [at] devhd.com we will let you know as soon as we hear back from them. Sorry for the inconvenience.

  3. Hello, Sir:

    I have some questions for you about your product.

    As you can see from my website, I have a family site set up on Ning.

    One thing I’m struggling with is that about 1/2 of the family uses computers and at least 1/2 doesn’t. In order to overcome this info gap, I made a newsletter and sent it to everyone. I want to upload each issue to Ning, but haven’t figured out a way to do that yet.

    I’m interested in learning more about “Feedly” to see if it can help me:

    1
    Does your gadget allow me to CREATE the magazine articles, or are they (from the example shown above) taken already made from other sites and merely re-packaged? And isn’t this a copyright violation, by the way?

    2
    Is Feedly essentially like a forum feature in that each new article goes on top of the stack and the old articles fall off the bottom into oblivion or archives, in a conveyor-belt way, or can I create individual magazine ISSUES (issue #1, #2, etc.) that will open individually from each other?

    3
    Assuming I get a good answers from the above questions, are the articles seen by bots if I have the privacy filter on at the Ning site? I allow only the first page to be publically seen as a marker for any other family members who are searching for info – we want them all to join us, but I don’t want our private family info to become part of Ancestry.com’s for-pay data.

    Thank you for your time, Jay

  4. me, again:

    4
    When the article image is clicked, will it expand into a much bigger view so that it can be read with ease?

    5
    How would someone print out the magazine issue if they wanted to?

  5. What happened to feedly? IT was working great up till about a week ago. Now it doesn’t work on my ning site, nor can I find it in the list of applications for Ning???

    1. Hello Bill,
      Sorry for the inconvenience: there has been a lot more demand for the feedly mix feature than we expected so we have scaled down this feature until later this summer when we will have a self subscription service in place. If you need to have access to your mix, please send us an email to team@feedly.com and we will try to get you a VIP pass.
      Cheers,
      Edwin

  6. Is this back and ready to work on NING Networks… I think with it being September we have reached the end of the summer 2010.. I would love to add this back .
    Robert

  7. The report features verified useful to me personally. It’s very useful and you are certainly extremely
    well-informed in this region. You have got opened up our eyes
    to various thoughts about this kind of subject with intriquing,
    notable and sound content material.

  8. Your current article features verified useful to me.

    It’s really informative and you’re simply naturally quite knowledgeable in this area. You have exposed my own sight to be able to various opinion of this kind of subject using interesting and strong content.

  9. Hi there! I hope you don’t mind but I decided to publish your website: http://blog.feedly.com/2009/11/13/add-a-magazine-app-to-your-ning-social-network-appathon/ to my on-line directory website. I used, “Add a Magazine App to your Ning Social Network [Appathon] | Building Feedly” as your weblog headline. I hope this is alright with you. If you’d like me to
    change the title or remove it entirely, email me at albertgilbertson@mailworks.
    org. Many thanks.

  10. Hi would you mind letting me know which web host you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different internet
    browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then
    most. Can you suggest a good hosting provider at a honest price?
    Thank you, I appreciate it!

  11. Heya! My name is Antonietta and I just wanted to say your web site rocks!

    It truly is surprising due to the fact I use to have a website
    that nearly had an identical web address: http://blog.
    feedly.com/2009/11/13/add-a-magazine-app-to-your-ning-social-network-appathon/ mine was only a few characters different.
    Anyways, I am a big admirer of your website and if you ever would like a guest article make sure you email me personally at: antonietta-mullen@2-mail.
    com. I absolutely love writing!

  12. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve visited your blog before but after going through many of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Regardless, I’m certainly delighted I stumbled upon it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back often!

  13. Hello! I am about to start my own blog and was wondering if you know where the best place to purchase a website url is?
    I am not even sure if that’s what its known as?
    (I’m new to this) I’m referring to “http://blog.feedly.com/2009/11/13/add-a-magazine-app-to-your-ning-social-network-appathon/”.

    Exactly how do I go about getting one of these for the
    website I’m building? Cheers

Comments are closed.