Usability Research – How do you use your feedly?

Update: We maxed out our budget for this round. If this initial round of research is successful, we will try to repeat this every couple of month. Thank you for your support!

We are in the process of finalizing the roadmap for the next version of feedly. As part of that process, we are trying to better understand how our existing users use their feedly.

We are looking for 20 users who would be interested to share with us 5 minutes of their feedly browsing experience (either through a recorded screencast or live through skype) and answer 3-5 questions by email. Participant will be compensated for their time with a $50 Apple/Amazon/Paypal gift certificate.

If you are interested in participating, please send an email to labs@devhd.com with …1) the number of sources you subscribe to, …2) how long you have been using feedly, …3) if you were a Google Reader user pre feedly and …4) if you would prefer a recorded screencast or a live skype session.

Thank you!

Author: @feedly

Read more. Know more.

37 thoughts on “Usability Research – How do you use your feedly?”

    1. If, by minibar you’re talking about the buttons in the bottom-right of the webpages I’m missing it too. I almost uninstalling feedly ’cause of this.

  1. hey guys. I live in Brasil, so I think that would be a problem in participating in this.

    But I think you should consider bringing back the “sliding” sharing toolbar. Maybe there could be a choice in the Preferences page between the “old” or “new” style… or perhaps it could be only visible when the mouse rollover the right border of the post… I don’t know.

    What I know is that the old sliding toolbar was much more simple and easy to use, since the new one does not allow us to “jump” to the next article and forces us to scroll the page all up or down to share it or minimize/hide it. That’s not cool.

    1. Totally agree with you renan, I’ve stopped using feedly because of the new bottom/top sharing bar, it bugs me so badly that I prefer to use google reader instead, please bring back the ” edge/sliding” sharing/toolbar.

  2. i find myself going back to google reader for a few things…

    -reading real estate
    -one click the share (which aggregates to my ping.fm account, which pings my facebook and blogs )
    -marked as read when viewed

    ..other than that… feedly is grate

    1. I have to agree with richiepresto on at least one area where feedly is lacking: reading real estate.

      One of my primary uses for feedly is keeping up with all of the various webcomics I read. I have a nice, big 24″ 1080p LCD display on my desktop machine, with plenty of room to make the Firefox window as big as I need — but feedly’s max. width makes that of no use at all. And most of the strips I follow end up getting shrunk down to fit inside feedly’s main column. For quite a few of them, I end up having to use “Preview” to see the comic in a readable form. It’s quite frustrating, to be honest.

  3. I like feedly a lot – I had used feedburner and google reader and the new flock and think feedly gets the mix of functionality and ease of use right. I am not a social web user though – I don’t use facebook or twitter, so that aspect of feedly is of no interest to me though I understand it is important to many.

  4. I use the categories on the left allot to do quick skims of the feeds coming through. When I find things I like I read, save, and share typically on twitter.

  5. I really like this utility tool. I used Google and the interface bugged me. With Feedly as my homepage I can do so much MORE. It really does save a lot of time and ease of use is great. Only one thing I would like: cover or digest design (like Twitter) that enables user to “skin” the page.

  6. 1) Organize Sources: Sorting within one category.
    2) Left Toolbar: Ability to keep all categories expanded.
    3) Left Toolbar / Organize Sources: More than drag-and-drop in left toolbar to change order > possibly within organize sources
    4) Missing Pictures: No article should be featured if it has no picture/video. And/or:
    5) Featured Article: Another “look/design” for when a featured article has no pic/vid.
    6) Cover / Digest / Latest / Popular: Pretty but Useless. Make it configurable or at least ‘vanishable’.
    7) Add Sources: Make the huge balloon-sky prettier / expandable – different.
    8) Mark as read, in upper/featured area: Not logical. Why tick-mark and nothing happens. Should be similar to usual mark es read below.

  7. I love feedly. It is a life saver and the first thing I look at every morning.

    1. A suggestion would be darkening some of the text (at times its hard to make out the gray).
    2. Mini-bar, bring back the minibar =).
    3. Sort Feeds by name or feed content.

    Otherwise, great tool!

  8. Love feedly. My morning addiction!

    1. At times its hard to see the gray “text”. A little darker would be great!
    2. Sort feeds by Name or content
    3. MINIBAR…please bring it back =).

    Otherwise, 5 Stars!

  9. I enjoy it just as it is, I think I need to tweek it a bit more to my preferences. It takes me so much time to read all the articles which I like, but I just don’t have the time, always.

    Oh, where’s the android app? Now that would become my favorite for sure.

  10. The thing I appreciate most about Feedly is the way you can follow a whole range of topics without being overwhelmed by the mass of information that collects.

  11. Here is a few of my list.

    1. themed layouts, different colors, different icons etc.
    2. public source statistics – to show sources and users which articles/topics/keywords per source are popular
    3. newspaper mode – to show this mornings summary of content as a traditional newspaper
    4. more ratings options – to rate sources, topics, keywords
    5. recommended sources/topics/keywords
    6. theming the preview mode
    7. wiki-mode – either api hook to wikipedia where we can make this into an educational/learning tool
    8. Learn Mode – Step by step help find high rated articles on the subject you are looking for.
    9. Best Of – Show the Highest Rated Material each week/month

    That’s enough for now :)

    good luck.

  12. Apart from the minibar for Safari and Chrome there are two things that would make feedly even better, than it is now:
    1. Save for later(and recommend) buttons near an item in grid view. Would be extremely useful for image feeds(like ffffound).
    2. Ability to sort sharing buttons(or at least the ability to show them before the “more options” arrow). Instapaper, for example, is after the “more sharing options” arrow, which makes it harder to access than other services.

  13. I really love the experience.
    But sure there things that would need work.

    For example most of the pictures/comics are just to small.
    So I’d love to have feedly use a wider width and have an option to click pictures to screen size/fullsize.

    Keep up the great work!
    X-Site

  14. I would use it for reading all my feeds, however:
    – I have feeds that that are custom built using Indeed.com, and they never sync with Goolge reader. It always asks me to add the subscription. I imagine this may be the case with all custom feeds.
    Ex. http://www.feedly.com/home#subscription/feed/http://rss.indeed.com/rss?q=(“interactive+projects”+or+ecommerce+or+”web+projects”+or+sharepoint+or+cms+or+”content+management+system”)+title:Content+-sap,+-j2ee,+-oracle,+-java,&l=60614&radius=15
    – My main blog catagory text navigation at the top becomes wrapped after awhile
    – I can’t quick mark individual posts as read
    As a result of the feeds not syncing, I find myself going to the jobs and then viewing other feeds. Otherwise, I would use it all the time.

    Using Google Chrome , Mac OS 10.6.4

    1. David,
      To quickly mark an individual post as read, mouseover the thumbnail icon that represents its source feed, and it’ll change to a gray “×”. (Granted, that doesn’t work if you want the item to remain in the list, after you mark it read.)

  15. I use Feedly for quick overview of my feeds.

    But I do have two comments:
    1) I would like to be able to use themes to customize my experience
    2) The buttons for controlling stories are too light with absolutely no contrast to the background, often making them very hard to find. Maybe darker and/or colorful buttons will help?

  16. What i do not realize is if truth be told how you’re no longer really much more well-liked than you might be now.
    You are so intelligent. You recognize thus considerably when it comes to this topic,
    made me personally believe it from a lot of various angles.
    Its like women and men aren’t involved unless it is
    something to accomplish with Girl gaga! Your individual stuffs nice.

    All the time care for it up!

Comments are closed.