Feedly+Android. The proof.

Update: March 8th, 2011
Feedly for Android is now available for beta:
http://blog.feedly.com/feedly-for-android-beta-program/

You can also look at the application in the android market:
https://market.android.com/details?id=com.devhd.feedly

The dev team is working hard on feedly+android. Here is the proof:

Looking forward to the beta!

Update: Here is a short clip of the progress review at tonight’s team meeting:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=60QadQzKynE

Author: @feedly

Read more. Know more.

67 thoughts on “Feedly+Android. The proof.”

    1. Yes. 2.2+ only. That is about 70% of the android market and should continue to grow overtime. We need some of the chrome goodness Google is offering in 2.2 to deliver the feedly mobile experience.

      1. I think you’ve got your figures backwards there, Edwin. Only 30% of android handsets have seen a 2.2 upgrade so far. The vast majority of users are still running 2.1…..

      2. Shame it won’t be on 2.1, it’s way more stable. And as Alex said the numbers are out, getting closer but roughly about 40% on 2.1 and 2.2.

        1. I know Karl. It was not an easy decision. But we need every bit of JS/CSS optimization Google has included in 2.2 to pull this thing off. The path we have taken is going to be rougher in the first 6-9 months but as Chrome/JS/CSS gets better, feedly+android will get better and having a shared code between iPhone and Android means that we will be able to iterate and add features a lot faster (= to what we do on the desktop). We decide to bet on the future on this one.

  1. Excellent news, been waiting for this ages. Good timing too: NewsRob (which I tried out about a year ago) has been making lots of improvements to bring it close to a basic “feedly experience.” About time it had some competition!

  2. Yeah, NewsRob is pure crap compared to Feedly! SD Card storage and offline reading is a must of course. I bet there’s plenty of would be beta testers out there. Hopefully the file size will be small too!

    1. Hi Aaron, Thanks for the feedback. We explored both the sync and real-time approaches and decided to start with a real-time connected approach first: a lot of our users subscribe to lots of feeds and the real-time approach allows use to be a lot faster – and performance was the #1 criteria for almost all the users who participated in our iphone beta. If there is a lot of demand for offline, we might compromise and allow offline browsing for the digest and saved articles.

      1. I’m glad you’re taking this approach, personally. I’m basically always connected, so I couldn’t care less about offline, but performance is always a great thing to have. Unfortunately, you can’t please all people all the time, though.

        Does ‘real-time connected’ mean we’ll have access to real-time notifications? I’m not sure if I’d use them a lot or not to be honest, but having the option is always very nice.

        1. Thanks Garret. Regarding notifications, it is something we are thinking about globally: a lot of users want to be able to define rules against news items (source, #likes, keywords, etc.) and be able to either mute or bump up articles based on those rules. When have a good UI design for rules creation, we will use the same concept to allow users define which articles could possibly trigger notification both on the desktop, iphone and android. So no notifications in 1.0 but may be in 2.0 or 3.0.

        2. Diet Pepsi?! Really??? :O Coke Zero in a can is the only way to go! I can handle fonaiutn diet Pepsi if I mix in about 20% cherry Pepsi or Dr. Pepper in the top. I love Feedly too, and set up my feeds into a few categories. I set up the Daily Digi and the Digi Show feeds into my daily category (along with a few others) and read them once a day. I let the others accumulate and look them over once a month or so. Good luck to Katie’s son in college. That’s so great he (and mom) are moving on. I bet it works out just fine. I can see Katie getting her routine down pat very soon into the year.

  3. This would be a direct competitor to my6sense app.

    If you have widgets, don’t need to support App2SD BUT make sure place “data” on SD card, I am sure data would increase a lot on everyday use. Should use existing Google credentials for login so that I don’t need to login manually.

    1. Thanks for the heads up. For performance reasons (a lot of our users subscribe to 50+ sources), we actually do not store any data locally. Like for the iphone, you will be able to login and access your feedly in real-time. If there is a lot of demand for offline support, we will revisit that strategy but so far the approach has been working very well with our iphone beta users.

  4. I can’t wait for feedly as well. But as far as offline viewing functionality, I’ll be honest in saying that every RSS reader out there that I’ve tried always disappoints in this department. I really would like an RSS reader that can grab the entire text of the article for offline viewing whenever a sync takes place. I know developers are worried about the bandwidth and memory this could end up consuming, but shouldn’t that be up to the user as to whether or not they want to make that data consumption? I have a healthy data plan, and 32 GB SD card, so I don’t mind going to town on offline archiving. So my hopes are that feedly seriously considers adding offline viewing in future iterations of the app. To me that is an essential feature.

    Keep up the great work!

    1. Mike. You are right on. Ultimately, it should be up to the user – and our hope is to offer that choice over time. To get there, we had to start with one approach or the other and we decided to start with performance first and make sure that users who access their feeds while being connected have an great experience.

      1. BonjourPour ma part je ne peux pas me passer de goolge Reader a un tel point que je ne sais meame pas e0 quoi ressemblent 90% des sites que je consulte via leurs flux rss (260 au total).J ai e9te9 un surpris et embeate9 mais il faut dire que la concurrence n a pas chf4me9 e0 travers netvibes (en place depuis pas mal d anne9es), Feedly qui pre9sente une interface beaucoup plus jeune de Greader.L inte9reat pour l internaute est d avoir l outil pour consulter ses sites, que ce soit GReader ou un autre…Le proble8me va se poser sur le stockage des flux RSS : chez qui ? Est-ce que c’est plus sure chez Feedly que chez Google ?Il est tre8s pratique d avoir un compte Google avec Gmail, calendar, Reader attaches a ce compte Avantage ou inconve9nients d avoir tout rassemble sur un seul et meame endroit ?

  5. I have just bought a S Captivate and the first apps I searched on market is Feedly but it wasn’t there (yet). Hope I will get my hands on it soon. Feedly rocks, I love you guys, keep up your good work :)

    1. You made some really good poitns there. I checked on the internet to find out more about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this website.

  6. +1 for offline reading! I’m in Singapore for 3 months, without mobile data, so I use gReader to sync everything to my phone, and read offline while I’m commuting. Heck, the wifi here is only available in our living room, so as soon as I go to my bedroom (or the toilet, for that matter), I’m offline.

  7. Teresa and I had a great system for catching rides.
    Needless to say, tourists come swarming from all
    around the world to experience the thrill of Colorado river rafting and other Grand Canyon river trips
    like Green River Rafting and Colorado River rafting.

    He switches the volume on the radio off until
    it clicks into silence.

Comments are closed.