An awesome skin: list view with full width support

Amazed by people’s creativity. Thank you Lockal. Here is a user script to make feedly more useful for people who need a list view with full width.

Screen Shot 2013-03-22 at 11.15.31 AM

You can get this userscripts from:
http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/162237

What it does:

  • Makes layout a little more compact, less free space
  • Full width of screen to display more content
  • NO MORE YELLING AT YOU CAPITALIZED TEXT EVERYWHERE
  • Grey colour title for read article when it is opened
  • Mark categories with unread articles with bold
  • Favicons are always shown
  • Some visual fixes (e. g. misplaced images and youtube videos in RSS feeds)
  • Arial Font to make webpages more responsive
  • “shift+a” marks all as read

Note:
On Feedly need to use the ‘Modern Gray’ Theme and ‘Titles’ View.

Author: @feedly

Read more. Know more.

59 thoughts on “An awesome skin: list view with full width support”

    1. I agree. You need to add support for using full width. thats one the things I dont like about feedly and love with Google Reader!

    2. I like this skin but I don’t think it is essential to make it a Feedly option. It is a signal from Feedly: users can customize it by ourselves. Feedly can not do everything but it allows.

  1. Not bad, but still a work in progress. One of my feeds seems to have no titles for the posts so I have to click on an empty space to get the post to open. It does, however, allow the said comic to display properly. In regular Feedly, the last section of the final panel is cropped.

    A few people have mentioned a lack of sharing and “save for later” options, but I’d assume the developers will be adding these over time. I’m not sure how they’ll notify about updates, though, seeing as the extension has to be added manually courtesy of Google’s new annoying policy of blocking non-app store extensions.

  2. I like that this userscript Bolds feeds and folders with unread items but I prefer full article view so this isn’t quite for me but it looks very nice otherwise.

  3. This solves several problems I’ve been having. I especially like “Grey colour title for read article when it is opened”. Without this it’s impossible to see if the “keep unread”-shortcut actually worked after hitting the M key.
    Also, “Mark categories with unread articles with bold”, finally!

    1. Please get this app released ASAP. I NEED fldeey on the go. I’m imaging it on an iPad as I type this comment. On a tangentially related note, do you support other URL shorteners beyond bit.ly? I ask because while I’ve used bit.ly for nearly a year, it’s suddenly become unusable for me, which seriously impairs my use of fldeey. Anytime I try to tweet, fldeey will sit for awhile until bit.ly fails to respond & then fldeey switches to its own bit.ly account. I’d love to use cli.gs or another service. Is that supported?

    1. We have been listening. Full width in the list view seems to be very important to the community. We are looking at ways to pull it in. We need to find the right way to do it so that transitioning between different categories with different view preferences does not feel broken. -Edwin

  4. +1 to having this option natively. Most important gripe with what is otherwise an excellent app. (That, and the fact that it sometimes decides not to remember my Google Reader signup). Other than that, I’m impressed with Feedly, congratulations!

    1. I totally agree. There is a point at which free has to bmocee a paid engagement. After all, this is my career we are talking about. Careers exist in order to support myself and my family. Again, I agree with your points here and understand the view completely. Thanks for putting it into words for the others of us.

  5. I seem not to be able to login (through Google) to Feedly’s Chrome extension… I logged in on my iPad and HTC with no problem, but I can’t figure out how to login in Chrome. I have the Feedly Plus extension, which opens the http://www.feedly.com/home#welcome url, but when I try to login, pass the dialog window allowing Feedly access to my data, the “Logging in” graphic appears, but then nothing happens. Tried on Mountain Lion and W7.
    Any ideas? Thanks!

    1. Log out and log back in to your gmail account and try again. That seems to fix this problem for me.

      1. That doesn’t cut it for me. I even tried to log out of Chrome and restart it. It appears to be a problem on Google’s side of the sync server.

  6. is there anyway to add a feed in the ios app or do i have to go to the google reader website everytime? (i automatically get redirected to the app store everytime i try to get on the main feedly website)

  7. Bit off topic but hoping someone can help me;
    How do i mark an item as read when in full article-mode? All i can see is the trash-can, but that would remove it completely, right? I just want it to be marked as read.
    I guess im blind.

  8. So one of the features is “Favicons are always shown” yet neither the screenshot or the theme actually shows any? Whats up with that?

  9. As others have mentioned, the Feedly toolbar icon, which used to be green, is always gray for me now (I’m using Chrome). Is this by design? It makes me think something’s not working right. I also never see unread counts — it’s always just a flat gray icon that just sits in the toolbar.

  10. Hi there i really want to sub categorize my category’s. I have too many and the list is annoying to scroll down and confusing. Also i want to tag an article into different tags, at the moment i can only have one tag per article. please help!!

  11. Hey! I just would like to give an enormous thumbs up for
    the good info you have got right here on this post. I will probably be
    coming back to your weblog for more soon.

  12. Hey! I simply would like to give a huge thumbs up for the good info you have right here on this post.

    I will likely be coming back to your weblog for more soon.

  13. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website
    before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to
    me. Anyways, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be
    bookmarking and checking back often!
    I’m certain all of you listed here engage in Group Fortress two, or else you wouldn’t be below!
    I also engage in TF2, and 1 thing that I couldn’t get
    my head all around was collecting all the things!!
    I’v seen some players cant even collect most of
    the things, never ever head ALL of them!! I was committed
    to getting all the things, but it appeared not possible,
    so currently being an seasoned programmer, I got to work!

    Soon after hours of tough work I created, what I say a single of the very best hacks out there!
    (biased considerably?!) The device that I have created permits you to
    unlock any of the products you would like in TF2!
    I’ts simple actually…
    I was arranging to promote this resource and enable some cash start
    rolling in, but i know the experience of not being capable to find the money for it,
    or becoming a ‘poor’ guy on TF2, so I have determined to give this
    out for totally free to see what folks think of it! Just study the tutorial beneath describing
    how to acquire and use the instrument!

  14. Good blog you have got here.. It’s difficult to find excellent writing like yours these days.

    I truly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  15. Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this blog.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appeal.
    I must say you have done a very good job with this.
    Additionally, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Firefox.
    Excellent Blog!

  16. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was curious what all is
    needed to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100% positive. Any tips or
    advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

  17. I was curious if you ever thought of changing the page layout of your website?

    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.

    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people
    could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text
    for only having 1 or two pictures. Maybe you could space it
    out better?

  18. In this Tutorial I will be detailing to you how I get my Intagram Followers!
    Instagram has over a hundred Million customers, which is
    naturally a whole lot! Now do not you desire
    that a couple of 1000’s of the 100+ Million end users would follow you??
    It can’t be that difficult to attain this thinking about
    the mass amount of users that use Instagram.

    That’s why I am instructing you all how to get endless Instagram followers!
    I have produced this unique tool which will enable you to get a mass sum of followers in a limited volume of time.

    I will be giving this to the local community out there for
    everybody to use!! To get your Instagram Followers, you will want to download the system from the website link beneath (virus scan is offered underneath)

    After you have downloaded it, you will just want to comply with the short tutorial I have produced
    below!

    When you have done that, you will be one particular step nearer to receiving Thousands
    of Followers!!

  19. We are a group of volunteers and starting a brand new scheme in our community.
    Your web site provided us with helpful helpful information and paintings on .
    You made ​​an impressive activity and our all the neighborhood
    could be grateful to you .
    Undeniably believe that you said . Your favorite reason seemed to be on the web simple factor to be mindful of .
    I tell you , i definitely get annoyed think concerns clear that just do not realize about .

    You controlled and also defined on all managed to hit the nail on the top without having
    side effect , other folks cAN could take a signal. Will likely be again to
    get more. Thanks

  20. We are a group a group of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our
    community. Your website provided us with helpful helpful and work on .
    You made ​​an impressive process and our all the community will likely be thankful
    to you .
    Undeniably believe which you said . Your favorite justification appeared to be on the net
    simple thing to take into accout of . I tell you , i certainly annoyed think
    issues just do not recognize about . You controlled
    and also out on all managed to hit the nail on the top no need
    side effect , other folks could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.
    Thank you

  21. We’re a flock a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in
    our community. Your website provided us with valuable and
    work on . You made ​​an impressive job and
    our whole neighborhood will likely be thankful to you .
    Undeniably imagine which you stated . Your favorite reason seemed
    to be at the internet easy thing to bear in mind remember of .
    I tell you , i definitely get annoyed at the same time while consider
    think worries just do not recognize about . You controlled well as defined on all managed to hit the
    nail on the top no need side-effects , other folks could take a signal.
    Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  22. Cooking on a spending plan is really crucial to lots of families in today’s economic weather.
    It remaining glassware glowing with a incredibly good complete.

    Searching all-around has soared, with Tesco posing an raising threat 65.

  23. We’re a group of volunteers and opening a new
    scheme in our community. Your web site provided us with valuable info to work on.
    You’ve done a formidable activity and our
    whole group might be grateful to you.

  24. There are various involving reasons which might be attributed to this particular
    unquestionable relationship. Certainly the typical wage may always adhere to Clash of Clans
    Hack for that foreseeable future. Your monetary click appears struggling to makeup its mind about these kinds of troubles which in turn unsettles
    people. In order to quote one of several good political analysts Odysseus Bootlegger ‘The achievements
    regarding almost any politics technique can easily solely actually be examined once the excess fat woman has sung.
    i Incredibly, this individual brand new nothing at all of Clash of Clans Hack until
    finally this individual was very well in his thirties.
    I feel strongly that when politicians put in much
    less time planning on Clash of Clans Hack and set a lot more work within their household life,
    that people would likely have a very different region.

    Why performed Clash of Clans Hack cross the trail?
    — To go to additional side! Merely the
    small scam, although why don’t we expect of which Clash of Clans Hack will not invigorate equivalent hilarity
    within the next elections. I believe Clash of Clans
    Hack must not be permitted to obtain in the form of the
    greater issue: exactly why tend to be all of us here?
    Putting this away the of good relevance. That determines order, creates
    ‘fires’, and yes it provides the most beneficial out
    there with men and women. I am going to get
    away from the final word towards well-known Beyonce De
    Niro: We demand Clash of Clans Hack, almost nothing far more almost nothing less.

Comments are closed.