The Power of Feeds

In a world where RSS readers are “dead”, it would be much harder for new sites to develop and maintain an audience, and it would be much harder for readers and writers to follow a diverse pool of ideas and source material. Both sides would do themselves a great disservice by promoting, accelerating, or glorifying the death of RSS readers.

-Marco Arment. The power of the RSS reader

Blogs, open feeds, readers help people connect and share dots, learn, get inspired and stay current.

Author: @feedly

Read more. Know more.

12 thoughts on “The Power of Feeds”

  1. One thing I miss is that it is possible that the star makers.

    I also fail to get all my tags from Google reader over into Feedly.

    I have over 2000 newspaper articles spread over about 250 tags in google reader.
    they are used in my work on my web page where I collect information about environmental sinners in Denmark. When I used an article then it starred so I know it is used

    http://www.gyllebomben.dk

    1. If you replace the “feed://” at the start of that url with “http://” it should work. I subscribed to a different Flickr feed directly in Feedly without a problem.

  2. Oh the irony… read this in my favorite RSS reader, decided to subscribe to the author in Feedly on Android by taping on the link to his RSS feed and got a page of XML. Tried by clicking the link in Firefox on Windows 7 and get “Feedly was not able to load feed: feed/http%3A%2F%2Fwww.marco.org%2Frss”.

    Yes, RSS is great for lots of reasons – but implementations could use some work on the basics.

  3. I rarely leave a response, however after browsing through some of the
    remarks here The Power of Feeds | Building Feedly. I do have a few
    questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be just me or do a few
    of the comments come across like they are written by brain dead
    visitors? :-P And, if you are posting on other online sites,
    I would like to follow everything fresh you have to
    post. Could you list of the complete urls of your public pages
    like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

Comments are closed.